Poland and Sweden — for the future of Belarus in the European Union

The foreign ministers of Poland and Sweden, Radoslaw Sikorski and Carl Bildt said that the EU should give a "future expansion" for the member countries of the "Eastern Partnership": Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

As the "EUobserver", it is all about in a joint letter the two ministers, who addressed the head of EU foreign policy Catherine Ashton and the EU Commissioner for Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy Stefan Fule.

According to Foreign Ministers of Sweden and Poland, the countries mentioned — are European, and therefore in accordance with the rules of the EU are eligible to apply for membership in the Union.

Thus Sikorski and Carl Bildt noted that membership in the EU countries, six eastern neighbors should adopt European rules and create legislation in line with EU law, to move towards the creation of a free trade zone and visa-free travel, as well as participate in other European projects, such as cooperation in the military, law enforcement and migration areas.

Ministers also considered it necessary to divide the financial instrument of the European Neighbourhood Policy into two parts separately for cooperation with the southern and eastern neighbors. To date, a total budget of 1.7 billion euros in the eastern neighbors of the EU accounted for only about 600 million euros.

At the same time, Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Poland and Sweden, noted in his letter that the EU is not likely to be able to invite the post-Soviet countries to membership in the next 10 years.

Like this post? Please share to your friends: