9 countries join the EU sanctions against Belarus

Catherine Ashton, EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy, said that nine European countries joined the European Union sanctions against those responsible for electoral fraud and repression in Belarus.

In a press release published today on the website of the European Council, it is reported that before the sanctions against Belarus joined Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Islyandyya (EU candidate), Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia (potential candidates for EU), Liechtenstein and Norway (members of the European Economic Area).

In January this year The European Union imposed sanctions — visa bans and asset zamarozhanne — against Belarusian officials responsible for violation of democratic standards in the presidential elections of 19 December 2010 yes for the persecution of the opposition and Civil Society.

Like this post? Please share to your friends: