Arctic countries with 2015 will be reporting on emissions of soot

The countries of the Arctic Council in 2015, will report regularly on emissions of black carbon, a component of soot, according to a joint ministerial statement on the environment of the Arctic countries.

Representatives from Russia, the U.S., Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden at the meeting in the Swedish Jukkasjärvi February 5-6, discussed environmental issues in the Arctic, climate change, protection of biodiversity and pollution control in the region.

"(Ministers) agreed that each Arctic nation should periodically prepare national reports on emissions of black carbon standards that countries have developed under the Convention on Long-range Transboundary Air Pollution. Reports will be sent to the secretariat of the Convention and the Arctic Council since February 15, 2015 "- said in a statement.

Countries, among others, agreed at the next meeting of Ministers in Kiruna (Sweden), which will be held in May 2013, to discuss the possibility of "special tool" to reduce emissions of soot in the Arctic.

As claimed by the Minister of Natural Resources and Ecology of the Russian Federation Sergey Donskoy, who took part in the meeting, Russia may create a national system of evaluation and monitoring of emissions of black carbon.

Like this post? Please share to your friends: