Four Russian cities awarded the title of City of Military Glory

Russian President Dmitry Medvedev signed a decree on awarding four Russian cities the title of "City of Military Glory", said Nov. 4 the Kremlin press service. These cities were carpets, Taganrog, Lomonosov and Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky.

Title "City of Military Glory" assigned since 2006. According to the text of the relevant federal law, the rank assigned "Cities in whose territory or in the immediate vicinity of which during a fierce battle defenders of the Fatherland had the courage, fortitude and heroism".

In the cities, which was awarded the title "City of Military Glory" is set commemorative stele, as well as celebratory fireworks are held in the City Day, February 23 and May 9. Total to date in 37 Russian cities of military glory, seven of them the title was awarded in 2011.


Like this post? Please share to your friends: